Personal Demon – Review

Another great book by Kelley Armstrong in the “Women of the Otherworld” series.
This one follows Hope Adams, a chaos demon. Herself and her on-again/off-again boyfriend/friend Karl (a werewolf) owe Benicio Cortez a favour. In this book he calls on that favour by sending her to infiltrate a gang that might be raising against the Carbel group in Miami. Of course Karl gets wind of it and off he goes to help Hope. Together, along with Paige and Lucas, they solve the crimes. What crimes? Those that involve stealing, thievery, murder, and a great who-dun-it plot twist.

Now what is a chaos demon? According to Kelley it is “a human fathered by a demon. And she’s inherited not only a gift for seeing the past but a hunger for chaos-along with a talent for finding it wherever she can.”   Hope herself describes it as “a cocktail more potent than anything I ever dreamed of. I drank it in, oblivious to my surroundings. I couldn’t remember how I’d gotten here.” pg225  On another page (that I can’t find 🙂 )she describes the chaos as a high. So basically a chaos demon is one who “drinks” the energies of anything remotely chaotic -murder, rage, pain -and can sometimes see what happened even after the fact.
I didn’t like the story line too much, I guess I felt Hope wasn’t “worthy” enough for a story. But you know what? Us girls got to stick together no matter come what may and Kelley can write a beautiful, strong story. I fell in love all over again with this talented author!

Leave a Reply

