What is Success?

A few weeks ago I had a conversation with a friend. She was taking about her in-law’s family. Their 5th boy had a “shotgun” marriage. He had fallen in love with a girl, ended up getting her pregnant, and because of circumstances, had to get married right away.  My first thought was “they (the parents) weren’t very successful in raising their kids right.”

Which really got me thinking : what is success?

Wikipedia says this:

Success may refer to:

The dictionary describes it as :

1.the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors.
2.the attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like.
3.a successful  performance or achievement:
4.a person or thing that is successful
5.Obsolete . outcome.
Synonyms   achievement, fame, triumph.
SO let’s ask again : when it comes to raising children, how do we know we are successful??
How does each family raise their children to be successful. The above family was not successful in teaching moral purity and abstaining/keeping ones self to marriage. Yet each of the children (save one) all have wonderful spouses and partners. Each and every child was taught to think for himself/herself and all have good paying jobs.  But they are just one family.  Another family that I knew of was very religious, was in fact an independent Baptist family. The lived, breathed, ate the Bible, yet only 1 of the 4 children have a success home life. Another has a good Christian facade but the children are way too sheltered (yes there is a thing as sheltering your children too much). and we won’t even talk about the mess the other 2 children made.
Kinda makes you think doesn’t it?  What is success??  Is it knowing the Bible? Is it living the law of the Bible? Is it getting a good job? Is it being dept free? Is it? Is it? Is it? I think a better question would be : What do I want for my children? How do I train my children to be successful?  Okay that is two questions. 2 excellent questions and ones I can answer!
  1. I want my children to think! Sounds funny but I want my children to be free-thinkers, to step outside the box and learn things on their own. I want them to make their own decisions. I want them to find God or rather have God find them on God’s own time.
  2. I want my children to have good jobs. Not the necessarily the highest paying job but a job they can love (or at least like). A job that will pay bills and have a bit over to spend.
  3. I want my children to find love. This one may be the toughest. What if they find someone that I don’t like :O I will have to remind myself that I am not marrying that person 🙂  What if they “fall out” of love later on during the relationship? I will have to remind myself to have grace during that period. I really want my children to have what my hubby and I have found -a best friend who I want to spend all my time with. A best friend who I can argue with but know that making up after will be bittersweet.
  4. I want my children to be kind and to look after others. I think this is important in this world. I don’t want them to be pushovers (see #1( but I do want them to speak in kindness, and gentleness. I want them to go out and about and have a smile always ready on their lips.

Those are a few of the things I want my children to be and do. My children are young and some things may come up later (sexual purity) but those my hubby and  I have discussed to be used for later conversations with the children.

Thank you for taking the time to listen to my ramblings 🙂  🙂
***linked up with : Unveiled Wife ,

 

Leave a Reply

