Dime Store Magic

I almost didn’t make the deadline for this review. I had this book for a couple of weeks but the first few pages were very dry and not very appetizing. Then when I realized I had a week left, I started to panic a bit -gotta read the book.

Then Kelley Armstrong pulled through. After I got through those few boring pages she worked her magic and wrote a wonderful, full, intriguing book -again!!

Excerpt**  Paige Winterbourne was always either too young or too rebellious to succeed her mother as leader of one of the world’s most powerful elite organizations- the American Coven of Witches. Now that she is twenty-three and her mother is dead, the Elders can no longer deny her. But even Paige’s wildest antics can’t hold a candle to those of her new charge- an orphan who is all too willing to use her budding powers for evil… and evil is all too willing to claim her. For this girl is being pursued by a dark faction of the supernatural underworld. They are a vicious group who will do anything to woo the young, malleable, and extremely powerful neophyte, including commit murder- and frame Paige for the crime. It’s an initiation into adulthood, womanhood, and the brutal side of magic that Paige will have to do everything within her power to make sure they both survive.**

In the last book ,Stolen, Paige’s mother had died and she was asked to raise Savannah.  Paige is also a member/leader of the Coven of Witches. Unfortunately the Coven is very much a “try not to draw too much attention to ourselves and all will be well”  attitude. I agree with Savannah that it is very boring :~ I mean your a witch! Just cause humans don’t like you and would consider you a threat doesn’t mean that you can’t learn “dark” magic.  I think dark magic totally depends on the person. Some people are dark and would use it for evil. Whereas people like Savannah and Paige would use that dark magic for defence.

I feel in love with Lucas Cortez too. At first I was so frustrated with Paige when she wouldn’t even listen to him. But I understand the animosity between witches and sorcerers!  I also feel that is so wrong that Paige relied on stereotypes. Sorcerers are considered “evil” just cause the majority are. But Lucas was a lost soul, a drifter. He wanted to change his own fate and yet his name always proceeded him. I am so glad that Paige decided to trust him.

Nast Cabal is Savannah’s daughter. I am going to spoil it for you but he gets killed at the end. I actually felt sorry for him. He finally gets to know his daughter and then it gets taken away from him -or rather he gets taken away by death. :~ I didn’t really read anything that had him being a bad guy -other then he was a Cabal. He seemed to be a nice guy just doing his sorcerer duty.

Overall a great book!

3 thoughts on “Dime Store Magic

  1. WOW! Thanks so much! I will be picking INDUSTRIAL MAGIC by Kelley Armstrong. I am not able to get this book through the local library plus I thought what a better way to start my collection of her books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

