2 Weeks to a New Me

 

Wow, this week went by really fast. I am so behind on this post but here it is! This is the last challenge, yet I want to do one more week to sum up all the challenges!

 

Week 5 Challenge:
Work with eager hands this week!  Pray and ask God to give you an eager attitude all day long.  Do your work as unto the Lord.  Remember the meaning behind your work in the home – all of it added up equals a well nurtured home and family.  Research and find inspiration in magazines or on-line.  Find a woman with eager hands and learn off of her.   If all day long you have been feeding and caring for babies, listening, comforting, training, teaching, cooking and cleaning – you will be tired.  REST – guilt-free!  God does not condemn rest – he condemns laziness (2 Thess. 3:10).

 

This week has been very busy. It is one of those weeks were it seems like I can never catch up on housework.  But I am slowly tiding it up. You see, I am a lazy person. There I said it but I am. I love to read, to watch ,movies, to surf the web yet those things never bring a deep satisfaction in myself. Only be cleaning my house and having a clean, not spotless, environment do I feel truly pleased with myself.

 

However I want to talk ,not about  physical work, but more about mental and emotional work.  You see when I was planning this blog post way back on Mon. I was fighting a child to do school. I homeschool you see. And all I could thing was ‘it takes work to raise children’. I guess that is why it says in Prov 29:15 The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left to himself bringeth his mother to shame.

I have found it is easy to say ‘go play’. It is easy to say ‘let them play, I’ll clean this mess up’. It easy to sit back and NOT get your child involved in things because things go smoother when they are not underfoot. Remember when I said I was lazy… well, I find myself weighting choices ‘If I call my child he/she will throw a fit. Then I’ll have to deal with the fit plus deal with what chore I want them to do *sigh* I will just let them play’.  I am here to tell myself that this is WRONG!! It makes things harder because then your children *ahem one little stubborn boy* know which buttons he can push.

When I homeschool it takes work to discipline myself to sit with them. It takes work to set aside my self, my desire, my house cleaning and focus on them and their education! All this is a GOOD thing! It brings satisfaction to know that I have done something even if it has been a bad day.

Anyway in case this post is rambling on the point is: it takes work to raise, educate and involve your child!

My Challenges this week (which I have been doing)

  • Involve the child with chores. They live here, they make most of the mess, they can learn to clean up.
  • Start doing school regular in the mornings. Discipline myself and grow a backbone. 🙂  This is about so much more then just education. It’s about learning life skills.
  • Work on attitudes(then and mine). I want all of us to be a happy family. I want all of us to be “good” citizens and an asset to the community.

 

 

Leave a Reply

