Pazuzu’s Girl

Pazuzu's GirlPazuzu’s Girl by Rachel Coles
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First I want to say thank you to the author for allowing me to read this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

Second, I am not too sure what I think about this book. I didn’t mind the story line. The title of the book says “Pazuzu’s Girl” but the story seems to be more about the gods, pazuzu himself, and then his girl.

I found this novel to be more of a “Storybook”. It told a wonderful yet intricate story story of Pazuzu, and Lugal. Their rise and fall, their mortality and immortality, their heartbreak over their children and the love they continue to have for their children.

The author weaves a story with the many gods. It irritates me so much when gods don’t help. And I felt that irritation in the book. Your demoness is destroying people, do something! One of the few gods who did help was,ironically, the god of plague -Pazuzu.

I didn’t like how,when Lugal gets arrested, the characters start talking about Muslims and terrorist and all that crap. I don’t think that kind of thing needs to be in a book. I understand why but still.

Overall It was an okay book. I know this book has been rated 18-22 yrs. but I think if I had a more mature teen or even 16,17 yr old, I would let them read this.

Leave a Reply

